TBAC Training Class

Discussion in 'Training Group' started by aaronpomeroy, Apr 28, 2016.

1. aaronpomeroy New Member

aaronpomeroy
    I just finished the TBAC training class in Logan NM. I'm new to long distance shooting so I thought I'd post in case others out there are surfing the internet looking for classes like I was. I highly recommend this class and I plan to do another one in the future.

My instructor was Brian (his bio is on the TBAC web page) and he was assisted by a guy named Aaron, also a competitive shooter. The instruction was a perfect mix of in-class, in-the-field, hands-on, and hands-off training. We got instruction on gear, set up, ballistics, shooting technique and every other aspect of long range shooting. I wouldn't change anything from class. I'm amazed at the way complicated information was packaged and distilled in an understandable way. Also, given shooting can be a bit intimidating, I should note that there was no ego in the classes, the instructors were welcoming, patient, had good senses of humor and were really tolerant. Not sure you could find better instructors. I'm going through my notes now and I'm still impressed at the information, tools, and techniques we were given over three days. I'm entering a few competitions this year and Brian designed a few setups that mimicked a competition setting, we did timed shooting, got instant feedback, and got to do it again (and again). When a guy was struggling with a target the instructors would spot for him, helping him with his wind and elevation calls until he got on it; explaining the holdovers and his thinking along the way. This process was really valuable. The instructors would also watch guys shoot and help with their mechanics so that overall you often had two-coach scrutiny and that was great.