Gunsite Scout

Discussion in 'Practical Long-Range Rifle Shooting' started by Anthony Moore, Mar 22, 2013.

1. Anthony Moore New Member

Anthony Moore
    A few months ago I bought a Ruger Gunsite Scout 308 and started the paperwork for a 30P-1 in black Titanium. I am looking at this combination to shoot to 350 - 400 yards maximum for hunting and plinking although most of my shooting will be under 250 yards.

Although I have many years of shooting experience, I have recently become enamored of long-range shooting. Those of you who ride motorcycles may have heard the advice "learn on a bike you will grow out of, not one you have to grow into" I look at this as the long-range gun that I will outgrow. Besides, I really can't afford to plunk down $4,000-5,000 on a new rifle & scope.

The Gunsite has one of the best out of the box stock triggers I have experienced (not counting custom high-end of course). At present it has a Redfield Revolution 2 X 7 X 33 with the accu-range reticle. I chose this scope because it's clarity and forgiveness were excellent for the price and because it fit.

I chose to go with the rear scope position which limited my scope choice with the factory rings due to the clearance at the objective. Notice that the mounts are different heights. Does anyone know if I can buy a taller set if I want to put a more powerful scope on?

With a better scope, say 18 power, what do you think the practical range of this rifle is?

I can't wait to get my 30P-1 (hopefully in August) its gonna look Schweet!

BTW, I ditched the goofy 10 round steel magazine in favor of the polymer 5 round.
    gunsite scout.JPG

2. Zak Smith Operations

• Instructor
    Zak Smith
    If you had a scope with external knobs, a 20" .308 can make hits at 1000 yards.

3. Anthony Moore New Member

Anthony Moore
    The Gunsite Scout has a 16.5" barrel so 700 ish?

4. Zak Smith Operations

• Instructor
    Zak Smith
    It'll be pushing it but yeah

5. Anthony Moore New Member