.338 Lapua Brass opinions... Lapua v Norma v Nosler

Discussion in 'Practical Long-Range Rifle Shooting' started by jfarr, Apr 18, 2013.

1. jfarr New Member

jfarr
    Wish Lapua sold in less than 100 ct as a new reloader and new owner of that caliber, but wanted to see if anyone here has opinions on Norma or Nosler as well.
    Pricing is all very close, in fact Norma seem to be most expensive with most complaints online about "softness". Can't really find anything on Nosler other than a few reviews here/there but it is nice to be able to buy in smaller qty's than say 100.

I also have about 30 cases of Sellier & Belloit that were loaded ammo with 250gr SMK's that I shot and wonder if anyone has reloaded that brass before.

Thanks for any opinions/guidance. I am new to reloading as a whole and brand new to the 338 lapua component of it.
    Thanks in advance.

2. Zak Smith Operations

• Instructor
    Zak Smith
    I don't think we've seen the S&B .338LM brass, so I can't comment on it.

Nosler brass is very good.

We usually use Lapua

3. jfarr New Member

jfarr
    ^^^^^^^
    Thanks Zak! Figured you used Lapua primarily based on your posts on .260 Rem and .308.
    Have a box of Nosler heading my way after your input to try out and use in load development.
    S&B was factory loaded ammo with SMK's 250gr. Was widespread at CTD, Midway, etc. say 4-6 months ago and now like most other firearms related stuff is nowhere to be found.
    I will reload those as well and post my thoughts here after I run them through a cycle or two.

4. Scott Barnett New Member

Scott Barnett